What's new

Hone with tape or without

I would learn to hone with tape and as you master the torque vs pressure technique you can practice honing on razors without tape. I have been honing for about six months and have a long way to go before I try and set a bevel without tape. The two razors that I have tried to hone without tape ended up with several decades worth of hone wear to the spine, luckily I was smart enough to use some eBay cheapies to experiment with.

I would learn to hone with tape and as you master the torque vs pressure technique you can practice honing on razors without tape. I have been honing for about six months and have a long way to go before I try and set a bevel without tape. The two razors that I have tried to hone without tape ended up with several decades worth of hone wear to the spine, luckily I was smart enough to use some eBay cheapies to experiment with.

Well said and I agree :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1. The perceived issue with honing on tape is a cumulative one - doing it once is going to maybe alter your angel by 1˚ in most cases. The Nanny-State anti-tape rehetoric that has plaged these boards is always based on the effects of repeated honing on tape; where you start with a 15/16" blade with a 17˚ bevel and then you wind up with a 5/8" blade with a 25˚ bevel. I don't believe that actually happens and I am not one to worry about what 'might' happen over 100 yr time span. If I'm working with a well loved smiling wedge - I am not going to expect that I'll be able to maintain a theoretical perfect bevel angle across the entire edge anyway. Lastly, when I start on tape I finish on tape. If I want to start on tape and finish without tape then I will reset the bevel when I pull the tape off.

This table can be used very easy. Measure the spine thickness and blade width.
Calculate the ratio.
Find your ratio to the right in table and the corresponding angle to the left.