What's new

Hone with tape or without

Some people say to hone with tape others say to hone without, so you do not throw off the bevel angle. I'm new to honing and would like to take care of my vintage razors as best as possible. So, please tell me which way to go. My razors do not have fancy spine work or gold wash that can be removed with honing.Thank you in advance for your suggestions!

Matt

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've found bevel setting wears more so I tape. After bevel no tape. Some old English and fret I had to abandon tape altogether. Wedges are tricky

Some people say to hone with tape others say to hone without, so you do not throw off the bevel angle. I'm new to honing and would like to take care of my vintage razors as best as possible. So, please tell me which way to go. My razors do not have fancy spine work or gold wash that can be removed with honing.Thank you in advance for your suggestions!

Matt

I stopped taping the spine because the hone jobs were better without it.

What I do to preserve the life of the hone is rotate 7 razors and keep them refreshed with .50 and .25 diamond spray paste. I didn't have to hone for 2 years.

I have been honing my own razors for some time now. I hone both vintage antique store finds and newer store-bought razors. In all instances I put one layer of 3M electrical tape on my spines. This way I never have to try to remember...did I tape this one or not? I leave the tape on throughout the honing process from bevel setting through to my 12K finishing stone. After the initial honing I only refresh my SRs once in a while on my 12K stone...even then I will apply a layer of tape. I only remove the tape when it is time to strop. It is just habit now.

Doesn't matter that much if you consider the tiny amount of bevel change isn't going to mean jack unless you hone it every day. Having said that I don't tape any of my personal razors.

No tape normally. Wedge or chip removal, but not under normal circumstances.