What's new

Taylor Old Bond St

Hi guys,

I'm very new to safety razors and using proper shaving cream. My whole life I've used just disposable razors and a can of shaving foam.

Recently I placed an order for a Merkur 34c which I believe has a very good reputation amongst more experienced shavers.

I've heard a lot of good things about Taylor of old Bond st shaving creams but man, they are damn expensive. Is it really worth it, compared to using cans of shaving cream?

Are there less expensive alternatives that work as well? Your advice and experience would be most appreciated.

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu
Welcome to B&B, we're glad you're here.

Let me give you a little perspective: my last two soaps were $48 and $24 and I though both were reasonably priced. How much do you pay for a can of goo and how long does it last? And what's in it that you might not really want to put on your face (or maybe in the air)? How does your skin feel after the cream compared to the caned goo? (you'll find out: better)

There are lots of creams at different price points. Proraso is popular and widely available for a bit less $. I believe there are some creams closer to $5. With the money you're going to save from not buying cart blades you'll probably be fine.

Price is a combination of factors: initial price (doesn't mean much unless you don't have it), how long it lasts (real price) and how well it works for you (value). Many vendors have samples: you might want to try a few before purchasing a tub.

I think Taylor of Old Bond Street (TOBS) is a very good value in terms of performance and $ per shave. TOBS Sandalwood is the first shaving cream I purchased after initially using VDH or drugstore soaps when I stared wet shaving. As mentioned above, Proraso is a little less money than TOBS and is a good alternative. Both are excellent creams in my opinion and you should try both. Wait until you try Truefitt & Hill and some other higher end creams!