What's new

Best DE razor for a beginner?

Hi all,

The information in this forum is overwhelming for someone completely new to DE razors :wink2:

So ... before completely losing my way here; is there consensus about the best DE razors for beginners?

My background is that I have shaved with the Gillette GII and Contour twin blades razors for the last 30 years, and with nothing else. I think I have a regular skin, and I can shave irritation free with the Gillette twin blade cartridges. Why I still want to test a DE razor? Because I want to try something new, and because I love the cool look of those "real" razors.

I don't want to spend a lot of money (initially), and I would be happy with a used razor (e.g. from the For Sale section of this board). However, if I want something that is not more aggressive than e.g. a Gillette GII shave, which brands and models should I focus on?

Yes, I understand that the blades make as much of a difference as the razor itself, but one has to start somewhere :wink2:

Thanks from a newbie!

I personally began with a Merkur HD, but looking back I wish I had taken the time to research and start off with a Gillette Fatboy or Slim Adjustable - these are essentially multiple razors in one, with a preference to the "less aggressive" end of the scale. My Slim is my personal favorite at the moment and would recommend it to anyone who wants to start DE shaving.

I started with a Merkur 33C and it was the perfect beginner DE. The 34C is good too if you want something a little more heavy-duty.

Edwin Jagger DE89. Its all you'll ever need. Derby blades to start, Feather when you get your technique down.

I'll take a look at the DE89 ... I read good things about Astra blades, but I am going to try several brands anyway.