What's new

What Honing Stone to get?

I am new to Straight Razor Shaving.

I got lucky and bought a nice Genco straight razor in great condition on ebay.

I sent it out to be honed to be sure I had a shave ready razor to start with.

I shaved for the first time yesterday and it went surprisingly well. No Blood, No irritation, Close shave.

I have done my research so I have a Alum block, Skeptic pencil, Arko shave puck, Simpson brush, After Shave balm, Tony Miller Strop.

I am now interested in a Whetstone. It has been suggested to me to get a Norton 4K/8K stone and I would be fine.

Does anyone have a opinion on this or a alternative suggestion.

Do I need to get a flattening stone also? I will be using it for my straight razor only.

Thanks in Advance!

Ravenonrock

I shaved the pig
I have maintained a shave ready razor with a leather strop and 12k synthetic stone successfully for a period of time. If only using one stone I would lean towards a finisher. I have limited experience with paste, but judicious use of CroOx on linen has helped refine an already quality edge for me (sometimes).

I would ask the person you sent the razor to what he finished with. You already said you liked his edge, so that sounds like a great starting point. I would also wholeheartedly advise against the Norton, 4/8.
Why do you not recommend the Norton seems to be pretty popular. I guess there are better stones?

David

B&B’s Champion Corn Shucker
Why do you not recommend the Norton seems to be pretty popular. I guess there are better stones?
Very few people that I know use the Norton 4/8 these days. Yes, there are much better options. The naniwa 12 k gets a lot of love around here, and for good reason. But like I said, I would start by contacting the guy that honed your last razor to find out what he finished with.