What's new

Tallow based soaps

Newbie here: Are Tallow based soaps better; and if so in what ways? Is it so good that 'once you've tried a tallow you'll never go back? What are some good ones? Thank you,
James (Denver)

Tallow-based soaps aren't necessarily better, there are some very good soaps with a vegetable base. Many people have had bad experiences with tallow-based soaps that were reformulated to vegetable-based and disappointed them. For example, many of the famous British names. Some folks just can never forget or forgive.

:lol1:

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
Tallow-based soaps aren't necessarily better, there are some very good soaps with a vegetable base. Many people have had bad experiences with tallow-based soaps that were reformulated to vegetable-based and disappointed them. For example, many of the famous British names. Some folks just can never forget or forgive.

:lol1:
I was a bit snarky I suppose. I have used vegetarian soaps that were given me, and have no complaints.

But... As for me and my house, we prefer the Tallow!

I've used good soaps and mediocre soaps, both tallow and veg types, and my belief is their quality was more to do with overall balance than specific ingredients.
One of the best soaps I've used was vintage Floris, which was made with tallow. However, the stuff that replaced it, made with veg oil, was terrible and just wouldn't lather properly. For a while that put me off veg soaps a bit, but I've subsequently found several made this way which are superb, like a few of the ones from Saponificio Varesino.

Hannah's Dad

I Can See Better Than Bigfoot.
There’s really only one way for you to get an answer — you must try them yourself. If you ask 20 guys, you’ll get 12.5 different answers. Lots of tallow-based and veggie soaps are available. I suggest a Stirling tallow soap and perhaps a Sudsy Soapery or SV veggie. Good luck!

’Tallow’ vs. ‘vegan’ has been debated for some time.