What's new

Shaving daily Vs. Shaving every other day

I have to shave for work, my facial hair grows slowly. As in five o'clock shadow the next day. Is it better to shave ever day or to wait to shave the next day?

I have to shave for work, my facial hair grows slowly. As in five o'clock shadow the next day. Is it better to shave ever day or to wait to shave the next day?
It depends on so many different factors. Do you want to shave everyday? Do you need to shave everyday? Can your skin tolerate a daily shave?

There really is no easy answer. I'm no expert on the matter, but I think you need to do what's best for you. And that decision will most likely come from trial and error.

@Dukbrand,

A little background for you... I started shaving about 40 years ago, but I just started using DE razors in September of 2017. I had to shave for work, but had to shave every other day because of irritation and ingrown hairs. I had no idea what I was doing because I had never been taught, so I just did what I saw other people doing. This is most definitely a YMMV activity.

Until 16 months ago, I used a variety of electric razors (foil and rotary) and multi-blade cartridges. I can now shave everyday without any irritation. I changed my preparation, tools, and technique. It's not perfect, but it's a heckuva lot better than when I started. And my development is a result of the wealth of information I found here on the B&B forums.

I know that's more information than you asked for. Worse yet, it may not even be relevant to your original question. If that is the case, I apologize.

My face can't handle daily DE shaves just yet. Tried it once, wrecked my face a bit.
I get it. Many of us have been there. I hope you get to a point where that is no longer the case. Have you been able to determine what may be causing the damage?