What's new

R41 - to buy or not to buy

As the title suggests, I am contemplating getting an R41, and I thought I would check in with you guys to see if you had any thoughts. I have never used an OC before, and the razors I own are more on the mild end of the spectrum. I know that the R41 is supposed to be quite aggressive, but one factor that is pushing me toward the R41 is I already have a Muhle R89, so I am thinking I can just pick up the R41 head from Maggards for <$30 and put that head on the R89 handle.

I have been wetshaving for a few years, so I think my technique is at least decent. Do you think I would be ok jumping into the OC world with the R41?

KeenDogg

Slays On Fleek - For Rizz
Hey, try it! If you don't like it, put it on the B/S/T.

Kindly,
Adam

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

If you are anything like me you already know the answer.
Of course you are going to buy it!
I got one. It looks scarier than it shaves. At least for me.
As with all new razors I was very careful the first couple of shaves.
After a while you forget that it is a beast.

Go for it, what's the worst that could happen?

Aside from bleeding to death, naturally. But that doesn't really seem likely.

If you have an extra handle laying around you can get an R41 head only from Maggards. You'll save yourself some money especially if you don't like it. I used mine for the first time this past weekend. I was a bit nervous but nothing bad happened. I did get some pulling from the blade but I chock that up to improper angle. I made 2 passes with it and then finished a third pass with my New LC (too nervous to try a third pass with the R41). It is definitely efficient .