What's new

Looking some recommendations for boutique OC razors

Hello folks,

One of my favourites in recent times is the Muhle R41. I find myself reaching for this razor more than anything lately. It just seems to work really well for me and provide some of the best shaves.

Being a shaving hobbyist I'm always on the lookout for new things and I'd like to upgrade a bit and buy myself another OC that possibly shaves something in the same kind of ballpark.. but something a bit more "luxury" or "high end" than the R41. I'm not really sure but I suppose "boutique" might be the term to use, so I'll use it. Maybe something in Stainless or Titanium or whatever.. you know.

I understand Muhle have a stainless version of the R41 available for maybe around £100 or something.. and while that may be an option, I'd maybe like to buy an OC from some of the "boutique" razor manufacturers. I've been looking at the open comb options from various Tatara Masamune, Blackland Blackbird OC, Timeless OC variants etc.. all these are potential options. I also had pondered over the Lambda Ares V2 but I'm not so sure about brass and it's out of stock until the next run now anyways.

But what else is on the market that might be of interest? I'm not really up to date on modern makers and razors.. people on here know a lot more of the companies and models than I do. I was just wondering if anyone had any nice suggestions for modern OC razors of the higher quality bracket. Let's say maybe starting around £100 up.

I'll just add there's absolutely nothing wrong with the R41. I love my R41 and I will continue to use it of course. I'm not trying to replace it. What can I say I just like to buy what I deem to be nice razors now and again and I'd like to add a nice OC to my collection.