What's new

Jende nanocloth strops

Has anyone tried/had any luck with nanocloth strops in place of pasted balsa? I’m new to SR shaving and looking for a way to maintain my razor. I had it honed by a reputable guy and love the edge he put on it. I’ve read the pasted balsa thread and am curious about other similar methods to keep the edge as long as possible.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks bluesman, do you prefer balsa? I’m trying to decide between that and CrOx and looking at other options as well. I’m still new and concentrating on shaving and stropping technique but want to maintain the edge as long as I can. I’m not ready to start honing yet

I don't use pastes at all normally and haven't used them enough to really give useful advice about them. I get long life out of my edges on just clean strops. Often over 100 shaves.

I do believe that if I chose to use pastes, I would be able to get acceptable edges. People have been using them for years. I just don't have the interest.

I have one razor that I finished on CrOx on cotton belting just as an experiment. It was a bit harsh at first but I was able to mellow it out with clean leather. The razor has since just been maintained with clean strops. A dozen shaves and counting.

I would recommend seeing how you get along with just clean strops, and then experimenting with pastes if your edges start to degrade. Trying pastes is very cheap so you can experiment until you find something that works for you. Pastes are generally easy to master, but none of the systems are foolproof as Slash's pass around proved.

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
Has anyone tried/had any luck with nanocloth strops in place of pasted balsa? I’m new to SR shaving and looking for a way to maintain my razor. I had it honed by a reputable guy and love the edge he put on it. I’ve read the pasted balsa thread and am curious about other similar methods to keep the edge as long as possible.