What's new

How Often Should I use Reno Mat and/or Cream Polish?

I'm sure there will be varying opinions on this, but I'll ask anyway. I don't polish my shoes very often (maybe once/month), but that's partly due to the fact that I typically rotate between two 5+ year old Johnston & Murphy's that were no more than $150-200 (still look great, BTW). I'm considering an upgrade to a pair of Alden wingtips or cap toes, so plan to step up my care once I get them.

I've been using Saphir Renovator along with Saphir wax polish for my existing JM's. I recently bought some Saphir cream polish and Reno Mat to remove polish build up. My question is this: Once I begin polishing more frequently, how often should I use the Reno Mat and/or cream? I have zero experience with either, and I don't want to over do it or damage shoes.

I realize there are varying opinions on using cream vs wax vs Renovator by itself. So any response to my inquiry should assume I'm going to finish my polishes off with a wax.

I believe most people including myself overthink this in the beginning. adding the step of reno is frosting on the cake if you take good care with keeping them clean, reasonably frequently polished. you will sense when to start from scratch sort of with the reno cream. the quality of the leather on Aldens is quite good and they polish or wax up well. the only ones they tell you to not polish too much are cordovan shell. so after my long winded answer probably a couple times a year for reno and keep polishing like you have been.

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu
I polish them when they no loner look good. You are more careful than me: I have to at least hit the toes with a quick bit of cream every two or three wearings.

strop

Now half as wise
I brush mine before and after every wearing, especially after. I usually use a wax polish after the cream, and when I can't bring back the polish after a wearing...it's time for the full polish.