What's new

Can’t get an even edge

Hi all, I’m a complete noobie. I got a straight razor this week. The straight razor was blunt (it couldn’t cut any if my arm hair), so i decided to learn how to hone. I got a #3000 and a #8000 grit whetstone. After about 60 passes on the #3000 grit and 100 passes on the #8000 grit, it still couldn’t cut my arm hairs. After that i went back to the #3000 grit because i noticed that the edge of the blade wasn’t even. The Heel and Toe of the edge is broader then the middle (as in the photo below).
5A5FFBBC-72B1-4060-BFF7-25F2B6575E2B.jpeg

The opposite side looks like this:
D027104E-71DC-4896-9597-82BEF42A2FE6.jpeg

Any advise from the beard masters would be greatly appreciated.

The razor is very poorly made and ground, plus you are applying far too much pressure when you are honing the razor by removing metal from your spine and that's exaggerating the problem, get yourself a decent vintage, and all your problems are solved.
Thanks for your advice! I was thinking in the same direction, but i wanted to see if i could make this razor work😫 I probably can’t send it back now.

An uneven bevel is caused by a bad grind or from the honing technique, and of course a combination of both.
I don't know anything about the steel. Even if the steel is bad, you should still be able to shave arm hair. It might not take and hold an edge, but that is a the next step.
Even if it turns out that it's a razor shaped object, you can still practice honing with it. You might need to adjust your expectations a little if that is the case.
A razor with an uneven bevel caused by the grind can shave well if it is honed right.
What stones are you using?
If you use to much pressure on a soft stone, you only need one stroke were you dig a little into the stone to round off the edge.

Which 3k and 8k stones are you using?