What's new

Please help!

Hi guys, I have been enjoying this forum for several years and straight razor shaving for some more. I have had various success with honing, and for the last year no success at all, and Im really close to giving up on my "honing career" and whish to get my razor sharp by own work.

I have Naniwa stones, 1000 grit, 3000, 5000, 8000, 10000 and 12000. I make sure they are all perfectly flattened (use an Atoma diamond), and I have tried all the tecniques possible, burr, up and down, various pressure etc. And nothing works. I examine the bevel with loupe and it looks perpect! Onlyd problem is that the edje just isnt sharp! I really dont know what to do.

I have read all the forum pages on honing and feel I have tried it all. Can anyone give any advice or have any theory on what Im doing wrong? Should it be possible to cut hair easily after the 1000 grit stone? If so Im not even close.

Thanks in advance!

Sometimes it's only a small thing. How do you move the blade across the stone? Back and forth on the same side, or alternating?
But yes, the SR should cut arm hairs after bevel setting (1k).

What I do: