What's new

Why can't I hone new Ralf Aust on Norton 4k/8k?

I'm new to wet shaving. I just got a new Ralf Aust. I love it. It arrived honed by the factory and I got some great close shaves out of it. I noticed that I was able to do easy dry touch ups with it indicating that it was very sharp. I would strop it between shaves.
My problem is that I was interested in learning about honing and got a 400/1000/3000/8000 whetstone kit from Amazon. It was cheap, and this may be where I went wrong.
I watched a few honing videos that seemed credible and I wanted to toy around with seeing if I could get it sharper using the 8000.
I made it immediately duller.
So of course I backed down to lower grits trying to get the sharpness back and couldn't shave any hair on my arm until I got down to the 400! Where only a fraction of the hair would shave compared to when it was factory sharp. Then every time I tried to progress back up 1000->3000->8000 it would just get super dull again, so much that it wouldn't shave any arm hair.
So I figured that it was the cheap stones fault and I bought a Norton 4k/8k.
I reviewed the credible honing videos and also ran across forums talking about a hanging hair test.
While honing with the Norton I could never succeed with the hanging hair test, and again could only dry shave a few hairs off my arm.. nothing like the factory sharpness.
One of the honing videos said that if when looking down the edge under a light, no light is reflected then it is sharp.
My razor passed this test, so with this last glimmer of hope I put on the shaving cream to try a wet shave.
Well, I stropped it and it shaved and I did two passes and it really wasn't comfortable. But when I rinsed off to check my work I realized it wasn't very close. Also, when I tried to dry shave the stragglers they wouldn't even cut. This was frustrating since the factory honing allowed me to previously dry shave stragglers without any problem.