What's new

The Wanderer's Journey

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!
Yup! That all sounds all too familiar :D

Usually by shave three, I've pretty sussed out the blade and how to get it to work at it's best. That's providing I'm not swapping razors about. This is another reason that I don't want any more DEs, every time I switch razor, it takes me a few shaves to adjust to it again.

It's wierd. I've been using DE razors for over 25 years, but you can revert back to clueless numpty taking chunks out of your face in seconds! Even switching between two razors recently had my competence levels plumetting. I had to stop using the Parker altogether for a while, as I ended up not using either razor very well at all. More razors just makes this even worse.

I want to get down to maybe 3 DE, the two Sheffield vintage razors, and maybe one other. Maybe the Rolls, maybe the Empire, or maybe something else entirely. Five or six total would be a comfortable number for me, anything more would just be baggage I don't want to be encumbered by.

Esox

I didnt know
Staff member
I really cant say I've needed much of a change in how I use each of mine, but all are very similar in design.

My Gillette D2 SS, Tech and Lady Gillette are virtually all the same razors and shave in a very similar fashion. No adjustment of technique is needed with any of those. I'll even add my NEW SC to that lot. The guard span, gap and exposure all being fairly close to each other and really the only difference between them is efficiency and the number of passes needed to get to the same point. Overall geometry is pretty similar.

My Grande and Regent are also similar and I use them with the same technique as I do the others, only with a shallower angle as they both have more blade exposure. That is something thats felt instantly so adjusting for it comes quickly.