What's new

Mug or bowl or scuttle?

The expensive scuttles look great, but I don't think they're necessary to make good lather. l.

Im no scuttle expert, but i dont think the main reason for having a scuttle is the quality of lather... I think a scuttle is prefered by folks who wish to keep their lather warmer... longer. the lathering area of most scuttles is no different than most mugs... the diference is the "bottom bowl" and the hot water it holds to keep the lather warm..

I could be wrong though!

Are scuttles usually that expensive?

Here is my list of scuttle manufacturers so that you can see the prices:

Mud Place: http://www.themudplace.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=11&zenid=b4e0b7a60118bd5b546501b0b1783086
Georgetown Pottery: http://www.georgetownpottery.com/store/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=GTP&Category_Code=Shaving
Dirty Bird Pottery: http://www.dirtybirdpottery.com/shavinggear.html
Robert Becker Pottery: http://robertsfeatsofclay.com/cscuttles.html
Sara Bonnyman Potterey: http://www.sarabonnymanpottery.com/moss_scuttle.htm

There may be others but these are the ones I know

And for all you bowl latherers out there that don't use scuttles, what exactly do you use?

I use a scuttle in winter but in summer I use two old stainless steel Danish gravy servers that came out of the back of my kitchen cabinet to make lather in. After trying lots of other bowls/mugs these seem to be the best that I have found. They are both marked Leonard Denmark 18/8 (stainless)

The large one is 5 3/4" across by 2 3/4" deep and perfect for my larger brushes like the Polo 12 and Rooney 3xl

The smaller one is 5 1/4" across by 2 1/2" deep and perfect for my smaller brushes like the Kent BK8

I've had these two bowls for 20 years or so. Never realized how useful they were until I joined B&B and started looking for more things to make lather in Before joining B&B I had always face lathered (always as in for the past 45 years)