What's new

Your expert opinion please gentlemen

Hi,

I have been using a Merkur 38C for about 6 months now and i am having very mixed results. My prep:-
heat large cappuccino mug and badger brush,
exfoliate or gental soap wash, if in shower i use a bit of hair conditioner.
rinse, lather up using either TOBS, proraso, body shop and leave for 1 min. using Derby blades, WTG, XTG, ATG. moisturise and EDT.

The problem is the inconsistent shave on my neck area. i find the blade tends to skip or jump sometimes despite holding the skin down, this leads to an irritated neck. I then resort to using the Gillett fusion which sorts things out after a few days.

I dont have a thick beared and have tried different blades. feathers tend to be the worst.

my question is, if i bought a progress or futur, will the adjustability help?

I love my DE but it hates my neck after a few shaves.

thanks in advance

My neck issues were similar to yours. I didn't get them sorted out until I got a slant. And a more cushiony soap(institute karite). I also figured out that I can't use a feather unless I'm using a very mild razor(I use a crystal in the slant). Of course both my lathering and shaving techniques improved as well.
I think the combination of all these things was the answer.
Good luck!

I dont think i need aggressive!!

If i reduced the aggressiveness on say the futur on the neck line would this help?

Any adjustable DE users able to help?

Thanks for all your replys so far, brilliant support:001_smile

Your shave gear and prep is very similar to mine. As well as the same issues. I found a change in blade remedies the neck area more so than razor. I eventually discovered the smooth but sharp (not as sharp as a feather though) 7" O Clock Yellow , 7 O"Clock PermaSharp Green (India), or Super Iridium (similar blade to the 7 O"Clock) does the trick just fine. The Derbys werent that friendly to my mug.