What's new

What Operating System(s) Are You Running?

Just curious what OS's you lot are using when dropping by B&B.

I've been using mainly macs for ther past 8 years or so but have been getting a little more grumpy with each release since 10.4. Windows hacked me off beyond XP. I've tried a few linux disto's over the years: ubuntu, xubuntu, mint, puppy, debian etc, but never comitted to one as I never really knew what I was doing and there were always niggling little issues I couldn't quite solve.

I recently gave my daughter a lone of my 21.5" 2012 iMac as she's broken her ankle and can't do the fun things 9yr old's should be doing for the next 6 weeks or so. To keep me from IT withdrawl I've dragged out a 2005 Advent laptop with 512MB RAM plugged in a keyboard, mouse, stereo & a bunch of usb drives and booted up Arch Linux. Best idea I've had in years. It took a while to get a handle on it but so far I'm loving it, the Wiki & forum help is just awesome. Can't quite believe I'm enjoying interacting with a rather sad looking old laptop that in my mind was beyond comfortable day to day online usage a few years ago more than my shiny all singing all dancing imac.

I've had to go with lightweight applications to prevent this old beast from just freezing up and dying. Most of them seemed terrible ar first but after a few days of usage and a little reading they are a real pleasure to use.

I suspect most of the answers will be WIndows, Mac, Ubunutu, Android or Mint but after about 2 weeks on Arch I'm thinking some of the less popular distro's like Arch, Slackware, Gentoo etc might be more in line with the back to basics feel of B&B.

Anyway, what operating system(s) are you running? Any love for Arch or are am I alone?

Debian on both desktops with a virtual box windows machine on one that I use to remote into work when necessary.