What's new

Vintage Watch

Hi all.

I'm considering purchasing a vintage Omega wrist watch (Seamaster automatic) from the 50s or 60s. I've never owned a vintage wrist watch before and I have a couple of questions for those of you who own and wear them.

1. If properly maintained, generally speaking, how long can you expect a watch from the 50s or 60s to run?

2. How often do you need to take the watch in for routine maintenance?

3. Is the maintenance costly? I'm just looking for ballpark figures.

4. I hear acrylic crystal easily scratches. Is it true that it's easy to repair the scratches using toothpaste?

Thanks for your comments!

I have my Dad's gold Omega Seamaster--circa 1959--which I often wear. I rescued it from a 30 year long nap in storage and had it reconditioned about ten years ago for a couple of hundred dollars. It's never required service in that time. The jeweler advised me against a restoration face painting (the watch not mine) saying that since the watch face patina had aged gracefully and evenly all over, it would hold its classic appeal and collectible value. A new paint job, no matter how good he said, always makes an older watch look unnatural. Acrylic was plentifully used in the fifties as much as it is now. Unless you have very special watch, acrylic is fine. Heck, they all scratch up.
Enjoy your Omega: It's one of a long line of handsome wristwatches from a fine maker. The indefatigable T.E. Lawrence wore won while wandering Arabia.
:mellow:

Hi all.

I'm considering purchasing a vintage Omega wrist watch (Seamaster automatic) from the 50s or 60s. I've never owned a vintage wrist watch before and I have a couple of questions for those of you who own and wear them.

1. If properly maintained, generally speaking, how long can you expect a watch from the 50s or 60s to run? These watches were made to last. Lots of donor watches available for parts, so they will pretty much last Forever.