What's new

Suit for black tie optional wedding

First off, I am new to this section of B&B so hello! I have some questions on formal wear so I thought I'd drop in and ask.

I'm at that age (mid 20s) when all of my friends have started to get engaged/married (not to far off myself either, actually) and I find myself in need of a suit for a bunch of wedding coming up in the next year. That said, the first wedding coming up is "black tie optional" and I have a few questions.

1) what does this mean exactly? I assume it means tux optional but the minimum would be a black suit and tie.

2) I don't own a black suit but would like to get one of decent quality without spending a ton of money. Any recommendations on brands/places to shop? I am all for spending some money to get quality, but being recently out of grad school I can spend a few hundred but don't have a huge budget.

Thanks in advance!

-Mike

Rhody

I'm a Lumberjack.
Brooks brothers solid navy. My 2 cents (its optional) get a solid well tailored suit you can wear to many occasions. I wore my polo tux a few times in ten years. (Waste of money) just dumped it at salvation army last week.

Last edited:
I would assume a tux as well. I would love to own one, but just don't have enough of a need. A rental can be a good solution. However, I completely understand how funds are tight. I'm not only a grad student but I also have kids in college. You could certainly ask if you can wear a suit instead.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

If tux is "optional" and funds are short right now I would go with a tux rental. When you can, keep your eye out for sales on better brands and get a well fitted black or charcoal grey suit.

If tux is "optional" and funds are short right now I would go with a tux rental. When you can, keep your eye out for sales on better brands and get a well fitted black or charcoal grey suit.

Any recommendations on brands to look out for? I have a few months before I really need anything.