What's new

Strops with good audio feedback?

I'm a newbie getting pretty close to 100 shaves (9 more to go!).

I think I've got stropping under control, i.e., I'm not making the razor duller by stropping, nor am I cutting my strops. I acquired several strops so far, my full size ones being a latigo strop as well as a TM rough-out strop with linen. I sometimes flip the leather side to experiment with the skin side which has a faster draw.

I'm curious if I'm getting the most out of my stropping. The thought crossed my mind that using a strop with good audio feedback might help me make sure my technique is okay. I'm most worried about applying a uniform, even, and the same stroke going both directions (i.e., I'm afraid my stroke coming back to me might not be the same as the stroke going out).

Would a strop that makes a lot of noise help me in this regard? The rough-out strop hardly makes any noise. The latigo strop makes more noise. Maybe there is an even noisier strop out there that might help give me clues on how well I'm stropping.

Thoughts?

TBH I don't know. I have been doing it for so long my cues are all tactile on the strop. That's why I prefer a barber's end strop and avoid heavy hardware like D-rings, handles, etc. It may if you always use the same razor but will change depending on the width and grind of the razor.

50FF241A-BFC0-45AA-A81C-2DB5B17D2BD2.jpeg
C0B90F43-DADC-4699-953A-E6DC98BFFD3F.jpeg

Not pictured here, but the Tony Miller Rough Out strop has quickly become my favorite. Everything about it is just “right”.
Now noisy it ain’t.
If I want a strop that sings like Jenny Lind, I go to my home made 3” 8oz. Vegetable tanned specimen. Teju lizard bolsters add a nice touch. This strop is scary slick; a skilled hand should be used with it. A Whipped Dog Poor Man this ain’t.