What's new

So I've been eyeballing handmade brushes...

Wow, those are really beautiful handles, I'm pretty sure he won't risk his work by matching those with bad quality knots. But even if he use great quality knots, it might not suitable for you.

Try to ask, and maybe if you can provide him with your own favorite knots.

Wow, those are really beautiful handles, I'm pretty sure he won't risk his work by matching those with bad quality knots. But even if he use great quality knots, it might not suitable for you.

Try to ask, and maybe if you can provide him with your own favorite knots.

Yes, please let us know if he uses a good to great quality synthetic knot... that's what I'm eager for. And I would love one of those handles.. if he doesn't work with synthetics, I'll still buy the handle and send it to Larry at Whipped Dog for one of his knots or maybe one of those guys with the Tuxedo knots.

I'm new to DE shaving and recently picked up an Omega boar brush. I didn't even know if I needed or wanted a brush, but now that I have one there is no going back. So now, of course, I'm shopping for silvertip badger brushes, as one tends to do.

I was leaning toward a Semogue 2013 Special Edition with the olivewood handle, but then I found a local guy who makes handmade brushes. He doesn't use a jig, and turns each one by hand so every one is unique. Also, I believe he uses CA glue as a finish, although I am unsure if this is a good, bad, or indifferent thing as I am quite new to this.

From what I'm seeing, even his most expensive brush is around $5 less than the Semogue. His less expensive brushes are significantly less expensive than the Semogue.

Here are some pics of some of his work which I found online:

proxy.php

Australian Banksia Pod with Alumalite Resin

proxy.php

Stabilized Hollyland Olivewood

proxy.php

Maple burlwood with paua abalone inlay

proxy.php

Box Elder burlwood with abalone inlay

proxy.php

... this guy, and many many more.