What's new

So I've been eyeballing handmade brushes...

I'm new to DE shaving and recently picked up an Omega boar brush. I didn't even know if I needed or wanted a brush, but now that I have one there is no going back. So now, of course, I'm shopping for silvertip badger brushes, as one tends to do.

I was leaning toward a Semogue 2013 Special Edition with the olivewood handle, but then I found a local guy who makes handmade brushes. He doesn't use a jig, and turns each one by hand so every one is unique. Also, I believe he uses CA glue as a finish, although I am unsure if this is a good, bad, or indifferent thing as I am quite new to this.

From what I'm seeing, even his most expensive brush is around $5 less than the Semogue. His less expensive brushes are significantly less expensive than the Semogue.

Here are some pics of some of his work which I found online:

proxy.php

Australian Banksia Pod with Alumalite Resin

proxy.php

Stabilized Hollyland Olivewood

proxy.php

Maple burlwood with paua abalone inlay

proxy.php

Box Elder burlwood with abalone inlay

proxy.php

... this guy, and many many more.

I'm quite enamored with the beautiful wood grain and some of his inlay work, but before I go buying brushes all willy nilly, I figured I'd ask the experts.

What say you, folks? Mass produced for more money, or handmade and arguably better looking for less? Anything I'm overlooking in my newbness?

CA is a pretty regular suspect in finishes, as far as I'm aware.

If you are able to actual get hands-on and take a look, since he's local, that would probably be enough to quell any concerns you may have. Those pictures sure look awful good. Also, I'm the type that loves to support a local business, when I'm able to.

Very nice handles. Does he disclose where he sources his knots? Ask him if not.
Even if you end up not liking the knots you can change it after trying.