What's new

So how do you organize your cellar?

nortac

"Can't Raise an Eyebrow"
So how do you organize your cellar, or do you? I'm not talking spread sheets or online, but physically so you can put a hand on a particular blend when the fancy strikes you. My stuff is all over the place in my mancave, some of it in a glass front book case, some tins in boxes, some in flats of mason jars. It's not so much of keeping track of what I have, but where I have it.

I’m just getting started, so keeping track of two pipes and three containers of Captain Black is pretty easy.

However, I realize the infection is still in it’s early stages, so I am looking here for help I know I will eventually need.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
When I first started I had all my open tins in the second to smallest jars, 8oz I think? And cellared full pounds in the big mason jars.

Then I realized the folly of jarring large quantities, since dipping into it for refilling the 8oz daily driver stash would mean opening and halting the aging.

Today my daily smoking stash is in the smallest 4oz jelly jars, my opened tins are still in the 8oz jars, and the cellared ribbons go into 16oz jars and flakes into 8oz jars. The downside if I have a buttocks load of bottles! With this method my open tins in the 8oz bottles still benefit from aging as I am opening and closing the 4oz bottles when I smoke. When I run out I hit the 8oz bottle to refill the 4oz. When the 8oz runs out I go get a cellared bottle to refill the 8oz. It sounds like a pain in the rear but in reality I only have had to refill a few blends in the last year. I am almost out of Briar Fox so I will have to rummage through the bottles to do a refill.

All the deep cellar bottles are stacked in the box they come in on a shelf grouped together by blend, my 8oz are in a drawer plastic storage drawer, and my 4oz are in a table top plastic office supply stacking drawers.

Kentos