What's new

Shoe Maintenance For A Complete Noob

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
What would you recommend for a complete noob to shoe shinning and maintenance? I have my dad’s shine box. He always kept his shoes shined and looking sharp. He passed in 2017 and this stuff has been sitting exactly like he left it since then. I don’t even know if it is still good. Or how to even use it.

But assuming I’m ready to dive in and start maintaining my own shoes. What would I need to get started? Brushes, polish, rags, etc etc..

What online stores sell the stuff? And what are some good brands. Like the best brands of this stuff?

Thanks!

E8F1ED8A-34C3-4DE5-9429-E8DC2CE4E546.jpeg
B7065127-DBE7-4137-A862-C0CAE5893BAD.jpeg
D28BB6D3-C42D-44C9-AA6F-3AFCE30BD0F6.jpeg
5AF442A7-21D8-4EB9-A300-10E0886DA69E.jpeg
5696C6AA-C7FA-405D-BE20-3CCD9F328ECB.jpeg
BF474B4F-B428-417C-83E4-4AEAD90833B8.jpeg
32A27B87-0D8E-48E6-B3A7-FAA7A3A69DED.jpeg

tankerjohn

A little poofier than I prefer
Here you go: How To Take Care Of Your Shoes – Put This On - https://www.putthison.com/how-to-take-care-of-your-shoes/

That's a really cool shoe shine box there! Great heirloom. Looks like it could use a little sanding and tongue oil itself. I'd go ahead and bin that Kiwi. Looks very dried up and not usable. Per the link above, I prefer to use soft creams these days to keep the leather supple and don't bother with a wax shine except for special occasions. Rotating shoes/boots so they can dry out between uses and brushing after each wear is more important for the long term health of the shoe than a fresh spit shine.