What's new

Shimming A Timeless

Hello, I received my Timeless Cap and Base Pate this week. I went with the .68 gap as I prefer mild razors (Merkur 34C/EJ DE 89). I paired it with my Jurgen Hempel Blue Wave Ti Handle and went to work. As many have already noted, this razor is smooth as butter, I could barely feel the blade. In fact, it is so smooth that it left me wanting more. I thought of trading for the .95 head, but I don't think my skin can handle that large a gap. Instead, I decided to try the .68 with a shim. I've never used a shim before, so I was a little apprehensive. All I can say is WOW! I can't believe what a difference a single shim can make. The shave was noticeably more efficient but it did lose its buttery smooth feel. Not uncomfortable, but quite different from the non-shim experience. Has anyone else tried a shim on their Timeless?

I haven't tried a shim, but I have both gaps. A .68 in a scalloped SB, and a .95 in an OC. Predictably they both shave great, but different of course. I've asked Matt @ Timeless to produce an in between gap, say .84 or so, but received no reply. According to blade gap charts the .95 is equivalent to a Fatboy on 6-7. Anyway, Timeless certainly makes great shavers that deliver the goods whichever gap is chosen.

I thought of trading for the .95 head, but I don't think my skin can handle that large a gap. Instead, I decided to try the .68 with a shim.
A DE blade is 0.004" thick, or 0.10mm, so adding a shim turns your 0.68 Timeless into a 0.78.

Try 3 shims to get a good idea of what a 0.95 razor will feel like - it's actually 0.98 but close enough.

A DE blade is 0.004" thick, or 0.10mm, so adding a shim turns your 0.68 Timeless into a 0.78.

Try 3 shims to get a good idea of what a 0.95 razor will feel like - it's actually 0.98 but close enough.

One shim was more than enough for me. I think I will keep my .68 base plate.