What's new

Rudimentary Analysis of 5 OC Heads: Merkur 15c, RazoRock SLOC, Yaqi SS Mellon, Fatip OC, and Muhle r41

This is my first attempt at analyzing razor heads. It's quite rudimentary as all I had on hand was my cellphone, graph paper for proper scaling, and a basic picture editor. If I had a better camera, tripod, and powerful image analysis software, I could do much better. But, this is what it is.

My goal for this was to try to understand for myself why certain OC head geometries feel so differently on my face. This is very much a YMMV hobby, but I am particularly intrigued how one person can classify one razor as mild with no irritation when another classifies it an an irritation machine. Yes, technique plays a huge part, but I also am a firm believer that certain razor head geometries will simply never work for certain people.

I have five OC razors, which are of increasing aggressiveness. The feel on my face aligns very well with the Italian Barber scale. That scale doesn't list the Yaqi, but based on my experience and reading posts here, it's pretty clear that the Yaqi Mellon is more aggressive than the SLOC. Here are the five OC razors I "analyzed" this morning listed in increasing aggressiveness:
  1. Merkur 15c
  2. RazoRock SLOC (probably a Yaqi OEM Mellon)
  3. Yaqi SS Mellon
  4. Fatip OC
  5. Muhle r41