What's new

Rescaled 2 straights

I rescaled my boker king cutter and my Johan Engstrom today. Followed the pinning instructions from the board and the end results are shown in the pictures.

Larry

6C227A39-264A-4672-9624-D1EE7911437D.jpeg

They were scales I bought from whipped dog, the pearl ones are plastic and other is horn with a silver inlay. I don’t think I did too bad given this is my first attempt.

Larry

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
They were scales I bought from whipped dog, the pearl ones are plastic and other is horn with a silver inlay. I don’t think I did too bad given this is my first attempt.

Larry

I think you did great. It's easy to botch the peening/pinning (don't ask how I know this).

Well to be honest I have done some sheet metal work on classic cars and I remembered a great tip when working ANY metal by hand and that is when you hit it lightly multiple times you create friction. That friction heats the metal which causes it to deform. The blows will then flow the metal to where you want it to go.

After i got them situated in new scales, i honed them and got them shave ready. Im getting better with my coticule, my arkansas, my pastes, and my stropping. Im running out of test spots under my forearms to test on tho :lol1:

Well to be honest I have done some sheet metal work on classic cars and I remembered a great tip when working ANY metal by hand and that is when you hit it lightly multiple times you create friction. That friction heats the metal which causes it to deform. The blows will then flow the metal to where you want it to go.

After i got them situated in new scales, i honed them and got them shave ready. Im getting better with my coticule, my arkansas, my pastes, and my stropping. Im running out of test spots under my forearms to test on tho :lol1: