What's new

Puma Rescale

Hi Lads
I have always wanted a Puma razor and today I acquired a beautiful Puma-Inox No63, blade only and no scales. I am a fairly decent woodworker with a full wood shop and have made scales before. I intend to rescale this razor using a figured wood that is close to the original Puma ivory color. I'm hoping to find a suitable pen blank. I intend to use 3 pins.
My question is, how are the scales shaped to clear the rubber sleeve that is on the tang? The rubber on my blade is in good condition so I intend to keep it. Are the scales cleared to avoid the rubber or are there extra thick washers at the pivot pin? If anyone could attach a photo of the area in question I would be eternally grateful.

how are the scales shaped to clear the rubber sleeve that is on the tang? The rubber on my blade is in good condition so I intend to keep it. Are the scales cleared to avoid the rubber or are there extra thick washers at the pivot pin? If anyone could attach a photo of the area in question I would be eternally grateful.”

The scales should have a wedge at the same bevel angle as the tang at the pivot. Same bevel angle, not same thickness), that when pinned tight will open the pivot end about one inch, way more than enough for the rubber on the tang. Any tube can be used as a third pin spacer, the tang should not touch the spacer when closed.

Scales should be thin enough to flex and keep the scales in tension when pinned. The wedge and pivot should look like a canoe (from top and bottom) when pinned at both ends. Use flexible wood and thin enough to flex repeatedly. This is what keeps a razor tight at the pivot.

In addition to how scales flex to remain in tension, thinner scales are more comfortable to hone and strop. Large, thick, clunky scales are uncomfortable and difficult to flip and strop.

There is a lot going on with scale construction, other than just handles for the razor, unlike a knife.