What's new

Picked up a new strop...any good, could use advice?

So, I'm a newbie to Badger & Blade...have been a troll for quite some time. I started out late last year switching from an electric razor to a DE safety razor. I've had great luck with my Gillette Fat Boy, Super Speed, Aristocrat and Slim adjustable. Decided to give the straight razor a chance. Picked up a Dovo 5/8 rounded and a Henckels Friodur razor (both in "new" condition). I'm looking to send them out to a honemaster, but figured I'd need a strop at any rate. Found this one on eBay mislabeled and nobody bid on it. I got it for $14.88 and it came in the original packing sleeve. Looks to never have been used; has no cuts or nicks. Any comments on the quality of this strop and advice for treating it before use? Thanks in advance.

Strop0.jpeg

Attachments

• Strop1.jpeg
    Strop1.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 38
  • Strop2.jpeg
    Strop2.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 34
  • Strop3.jpeg
    Strop3.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 36
  • Strop4.jpeg
    Strop4.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 40
Welcome to B&B. As to your strop, the price was nice and if it was good enough for a barber college, it's good enough for you and me.

I would suggest getting some neetsfoot oil rubbed into it, let it hang vertical for a day or two and then wipe it down and use it. Neetsfoot oil goes a long, long way. So, there is no need to use a great deal of it. Always hang your strops vertical. Never fold them or roll them up. For travel, find a small travel strop. Otherwise, you done good in my opinion.

Good luck and good find!

From what I understand, the red diamond-checked side is for making the strop more pliable and NOT for stropping. As this has a tight-weave linen strop also, I conclude only the "face" of the leather strop is meant to be used.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod