What's new

New to SR

So I am new to using a streight edge razor & have some questions.

How long did it take you to get used to using the razor properly, specifically being able to shave around your throat, chin and around your lips?

Had two attempts and not carved my face up yet, but the shave isn't as close as my old blades gave just yet, just looking to figure out how long most people take to figure things out suitably.

I have also bought a whet stone for honing the razor, as answers from Google seems to be non to fussy, but here it seems to be more specific, is a normal whet stone suitable or should I be getting something more specific?

Thank you for your help.

source.gif

First, welcome to the party and we look forward to hearing about your adventures here on the SR foum!
To your first question; I seemed to be fairly ok with shaving around my throat, chin and lips within the first week or so, but I did give myself quite a few little nicks around the corners of my mouth and below my nostrils up until shave 100 or so. I decided to fight through the fact that I had not talent for shaving with a straight and ended up becoming very proficient.
Your second question was answered by my first comment, around 100 shaves is where most people feel their skill is up to a very competent level.
I'm not sure I understand your third question about hones. Can you share a picture or a link to the hone you bought?
Best wishes
Matt

I just bought a generic sharpening stone advertised as for knives and the like, picture of what I bought should be attached.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20181218-213831_Amazon.jpg
    Screenshot_20181218-213831_Amazon.jpg
    522.1 KB · Views: 21
I just finished shave 20 this weekend and get a fairly quick DFS. I was starting weekend shaves with a single pass and finishing with DE since the first of the year, until about 10 weekends ago when I started using only my straights on weekends.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk