What's new

Tips For Finishing on Softer Jnats?

Hello B&B,

Some long-winded preface for context: this is my first discussion post here, so please let me know if I am missing information or not asking the right questions. I have been honing and shaving with SRs for about a year now. In that time I have only used Jnats and modern synthetics. Every time I ask a question It has lead to more things I learn and that has translated to my edges getting better and more consistent. So what sparked this post? It was actually a few 10+ year old archived threads here and other shaving forums discussing soft vs. hard Jnats and one comment specifically mentioned how sometimes softer Jnats can be quirky to finish on, comparing them to Belgain coticules (which I have no experience using) and said understanding tricks with those coticules can help with using some softer Jnats but did not outline the specific or necessary techniques to fininshing on softer coticules/Jnats. There appears to be a lot of dicussion surrounding harder Jnats, their use, and comparing/differentiating them to softer stones, but not much (from what I could find) about producing a shavable edge on softer stones.