What's new

Level of sharpness *help*

Gentlemen I need your advice and help.

My problem is, that I cant seem to get my fixed straights to be as sharp as my Disposable straight Feather.

I am not a total beginner in honing, but by all means I am no expert.

I set the bevel on a 1 K, then move to a 3K, 8K, 12 K, then I do 10 laps on 1 Micron diamond spray on hard wool felt, then 7 laps on 0.5 micron, then 5 laps on 0.25 micron. The I do laps on unpasted linnen, and then strop on plain leather.

I check the bevel all the time in the process, on do the thumbnail test and the light test, and everything looks fine.

I can shave with the razor after i honed/stropped it, but its just not the same as with a Feather. The level of sharpness is be all means not the same.

I would like to know, wether or not a fixed blade can get to be as sharp as a disposable feather blade. I might be wasting my time with this.

My razors are Dovo renaissance/Micarta/Bismarck and a Thiers Issard.

I am getting really frustrated.

Do I need to get another brand razor for more sharpness?

What I will do now, is send two of my razors to two different honemeisters, and see what they feel like when they come back.

From what I understand, the answer is no. You can't get it as sharp as a feather. However, if you look into the "sharpest razor in the world, 0.125 CBN" thread, you might be able to find a guy that can get it as close as possible.

Gentlemen I need your advice and help.

My problem is, that I cant seem to get my fixed straights to be as sharp as my Disposable straight Feather.

I am not a total beginner in honing, but by all means I am no expert.

I set the bevel on a 1 K, then move to a 3K, 8K, 12 K, then I do 10 laps on 1 Micron diamond spray on hard wool felt, then 7 laps on 0.5 micron, then 5 laps on 0.25 micron. The I do laps on unpasted linnen, and then strop on plain leather.