What's new

Coticule vs Slate progression

Yesterday I noticed my T-I 188 5/8s was suffering from some water spotting patina. I decided to polish it before it became serious and followed with a new edge. I chose to do a coticule slurry dilution to finish under running water and I have to say this. I’ve used slate progressions, some followed by a black ark finish and never have any of those shaves been as comfortable as taking this particular razor all the way with just a coticule.

I am still new to wet shaving so I have been playing with different pressures and techniques. Somehow the stars aligned on this honing and it became a beautiful edge. No irritation or burn. Great feedback with the alum block. 👌

The equipment:

Ardennes Coticule (unknown vein)
Thiers-Issard 188 5/8
Illinois Razor Company 827 (25 laps)

This has been my most simple honing progression and I will absolutely keep this for this razor.

Yesterday I noticed my T-I 188 5/8s was suffering from some water spotting patina. I decided to polish it before it became serious and followed with a new edge. I chose to do a coticule slurry dilution to finish under running water and I have to say this. I’ve used slate progressions, some followed by a black ark finish and never have any of those shaves been as comfortable as taking this particular razor all the way with just a coticule.

I am still new to wet shaving so I have been playing with different pressures and techniques. Somehow the stars aligned on this honing and it became a beautiful edge. No irritation or burn. Great feedback with the alum block. 👌

The equipment:

Ardennes Coticule (unknown vein)
Thiers-Issard 188 5/8
Illinois Razor Company 827 (25 laps)

This has been my most simple honing progression and I will absolutely keep this for this razor.
Why do you think some of us collect these stones;)

Progression or not, there is something uniquely smooth with coticule and razor. Coticule and thuri seem to be created for razors