What's new

Good afternoon

Good afternoon gentlemen,

I'm RP Owens (but you can call me Ryan); I am a Canadian 23 year-old living in Charlottetown, PEI but born and raised in Moncton, NB (not that this will mean much to most). I currently work as a wardrobe consultant at a chain retailer of men's wear (my North American friends will probably know what I'm talking about) and, while the income is marginal, I love my job. My primary focus, then, is dressing men appropriately for all situations and that's a passion I carry with me. This was not the first area of traditional men's fashion that I latched onto. It should come as little surprise to most of you that my first jump into the modern past was through wet-shaving. Like so many young men in my generation, I suffered from a problem wherein the links between myself and previous generations were severed by a generation which preceded me having no discernible interest in the fineries of life. To my father (God love him), the ideal shave was one that was quick, painless and yielded passable results. His wardrobe was one that was "comfortable" and functional (both excellent and inescapable qualities in a good wardrobe) but lacked any kind of character or sense of beauty. Hair was always cut in an appropriate way, but was never styled. It was a wasteland for tradition. Then I came across several blogs about traditional men's lifestyles and it all changed.