What's new

first time DE user feels like my face got run over

hello im a DE newbie did a first shave with murker vision 2000 with murker blade and got a bunch of cuts and my face is on fire. Before shave i used a 'art of shaving' oil and a expensive shaving cream that i applied with my hands. I have a brush but i don't know how to make lather yet and i was in a rush to try this new DE razor... i got an OK shave, but after my face was on fire. before i used an old Chinese DE razor with a different blade and i had less cuts, less burn, and closer shave. the new murker vision 2000 that i got is very heavy. do you guys think this is a good DE razor, or i should switch it and get another one. i am also thinking of straight cut-throat blades. Which methods can get me the closest shave with least irritation.

No. 1 Ok First and foremost in all parts of shaving and more pressure is everything. No pressure, let the razor do the cutting you just draw it accross your face. Not like the cartridge razors that you can get away with 'bearing down on'.

No. 2 That is an agressive razor. Myself and my brother both found it very agressive but my oldest brother loves it with fether blades (These are very agressive blades) Which brings me to ...

No. 3 What blades are you using? You need to find the blades that work for you. I love Derbies. But any less agressive blade is ok to learn on.

No. 4 Use a lather! Even if you use a normal crap, i mean cartridge razor, you will get better shaves with a lather. It cushins the shave.

No. 5 Straights will give you a closer shave. But they have a steper learning curve. Get good with DEs, ie learn to lather, to not bear down, what lather preshave etc works for you then jump to straights with only one thing to learn. (Others disagree with this)