What's new

eye and ear protection

Hi All
Shooting newb here. Don't even have my own yet -- but go shooting with friends semi-regularly. 90% at an indoor range, shooting pistols -- 9mm, .38/.357 mostly. I expect I'll be picking up my own handgun in the next couple of months -- probably a used Ruger or S&W 357.

I searched the forum and found a few threads but there's lots of disagreement on ear protection.
It looks like plugs plus muffs are the most recommended.

I'd like electronic muffs so I can hear range instructions -- especially critical I think since I'm a beginner. The Leigh Impact Sports are popular, but with a NRR of 22, they seem a little weak.

What about eye protection? Normally I just use safety glasses from work. Any advantage to using anything more shooting specific? (I don't wear glasses.)

Looking for some good recommendations without starting a Ford/Chevy, RedSox/Yankees discussion.

nortac

"Can't Raise an Eyebrow"
You will probably find that a sport specific protective eye wear will allow you to see more clearly than industrial safety glasses and if shooting outdoors, better sun and UV protection than simple clear plastic safety glasses, plus they look cooler! What ever you get, make sure it has a wrap around design and a high impact polycarbonate lens. There are many brands out there, pay your money and take your chances.

Harbor Freight and Northern Tools are good places to shop for eye protection.

I use Caldwell electronic low profile muffs. If someone brings out a real big boomer, I add a set of plugs under them. My Caldwells are three years old. I shoot around 5 days a week. They have given me no problems.

Last edited:

simon1

Self Ignored by Vista