What's new

Changing needs as I age

jar_

Too Fugly For Free.
As I imagine most folk here already know, I started shooting and got MY first handgun when Ike was the President. Oh, there was also a rifle (22lr from Sears or Monkey Wards) and shotgun (H&R 20 gauge single shot) that were family guns ad as the oldest kid got to use them pretty much whenever I wanted. I spent many delightful hours walking the field and crop land string up insects that were gobbled up by the quail and partridge and doves and other feathered critters that always followed behind me enjoying the feast as much as I enjoyed the hunt. The shotgun was pretty much my constant companion walking the ridge line along the Catoctin Mountain range communing with the squirrels and chipmunks that kept me company. Until one day a bunch of really nice men in business suits in the woods told me that I was on David's Camp and it was posted no trespassing or hunting or shooting. I said sorry and that I hadn't seen the signs and they said I should be fine as long as I went back aways.

Back then I didn't seem to mind that the rifle and shotgun were both just plain heavy and that the trigger on MY H&R 923 was kinda like trying to pull a 1950 Chevy Tudor uphill by hand from the rear bumper.

But Ike isn't President anymore even if Camp David is still posted no trespassing or hunting or shooting and I doubt those kind men in business suits in the woods are still as polite. And some days I really do notice that today's guns are too heavy and hard to rack and ...

While I still enjoy the experienced pistols and revolvers, even the big all steel ones most days, some days I just can't quite manage what I usta did.

So the search for Plan 9 began.

What I wanted were pistols that concealed well and were easy to rack, easy to maintain, easy to shoot reliably, rapidly and accurately even on my less than great days.