What's new

DOVO 42 FRITZ BRACHT, anyone have any info on this?

So, i'm new to this posting thing on here. Anyways, i recently acquired this blade. Is there anyone who can give me any legitimate information on it? it would be greatly appreciated =]

I'm not sure what info your looking for but those are one of the early Dovo's and they are very good shavers. Yours looks like a 3/8s which if it is is kind of small for shaving. Most of those were designed for trim work.

roughly around wwII? i hear smaller blades are good for detailed shaves. and do these scales look original, or repro?

Judging by the age and wear, they look original. Esp because they are missing the center pin.

edit: Its not worth forging old razor scales, fwiw. If the scales were redone, they would be probably look either really new or really pretty. And the pin would look newer than the razor.

yea, that's true. so would i be hurting the value much if i were to replace them? also how much would this go for? just curious.

yea, that's true. so would i be hurting the value much if i were to replace them? also how much would this go for? just curious.

Honestly, the value would go up if you put quality scales on it. The current scales look like plastic. The blade is stainless so its newer vintage. Thus, past the age of celluloid and horn.

However, the like others have said, the blade is tiny. I mean, really tiny. Not worth it IMHO. BUT, if you like it, go for it! :thumbup1:

edit: What exactly is wrong with the current scales? Besides the missing pin in the middle. If the missing pin bugs you, just get a rod to fill the hole.

Last edited: