What's new

Cheap vs. Less Cheap Slants

For those of you who have used both mass produced, non-artisan grade slants and their more expensive offerings found a difference in shave results?

I.E., iKon X3 vs B1 or Merkur 37c vs. Superslant (L#/+/++) or Above the Tie S1/S2

I have my first slant; a Yaqi OC Slant head and am curious to what extent there is a difference between it and the higher dollar slant options. Yes, I could buy them, but spending $100+ per go is a bit much without having any sort of concrete idea of whether or not spending 1011% or more is worth it :)

I have no experience with these artisan grade, full CNC razor heads. All of mine are Muhle and Yaqi (OC & OC Slant).

Here's what I've found so far...
The Inexpensive Slant List
iKon X3
Fatip Lo Sorto Gentile, Lo Sorto OC
Phoenix Artisan Accoutrements - Phantom, Filament, Fatasma, Criatura, etc.
Merkur 37C
Razorock German 37
Yaqi OC Slant

The CNC Slant List
Yaqi Slope
iKon B1
Razorock Superslant, Wunderbar
Above the Tie S1, S2 (yes, X1 but isn't a DE head)

Last edited:
I've had an Ikon B1 slant for many years. I've previously had and sold a Merkur 37C, Fatip Lo Storto OC, and PAA Phantom. The 37C is a great razor but I prefer stainless steel and the Ikon performs much the same. Regarding the Fatip and PAA, although many people like them, I was not happy with the efficiency and comfort of the shave.

I'd love to try a Rex Konsul someday but it's doubtful because of its price tag and I'm getting great shaves with regular DE razors.

IMHO @Old Hippie is the resident expert on slants. Search for his posts on the subject, or perhaps he will give some advice here.

FYI - i think i just realized that the iKon B1 is just a coated version of the X3 head - sorry.
Not from what I could tell- the B1 appears to be machined, with much crisper, non-cast lines. I had one for several years and loved it.