What's new

Black Ark (ultra fine) OR True Hard Ark (extra fine)?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I am looking at purchasing an Arkansas whetstone for finishing and am tossing up between the black or the true hard. My SRs vary in hardness from the high 50s to high 60s RHC of cabon steel and stainless steel.

This will be my first and hopefully last Arkansas whetstone. Which should I choose?

Worth seeing if anyone has anything to sell I’d have thought. Even a vintage Norton Translucent is probably still going to be a bit cheaper than buying new.

(I don’t have anything spare atm I’m afraid, so that’s not a sales pitch!)

I only have one Arkansas stone, so take it for what it is worth. I get really good results with my translucent black/blue black.
I think Dan's rates his true hard (surgical black) as finer then the translucent.
I am no expert. I only know that my blue black is grate. I have an itch sometimes to get another one. I like to compare it with a true black (surgical black, if that is the same stone).

I believe most clean properly lapped and prepared hard arkansas stones with density greater than 2.6g/cm^3 should perform very similarly regardless of color or translucency. Maybe the speed or glazing changes a little bit. They all kind of settle into the same zone eventually for me. Stones 2.55-2.6 might be ok also but it just depends.

For razors I mostly use my dark grey translucent nowadays since I have the back and front at different finishes, back 320 front 500. My Dan's Black is also fantastic but needs refreshing. If you are set on only one stone then maybe go for a Dan's Black. Otherwise go for a vintage translucent, easier to see they are pure noviculite.

I only have one Arkansas stone, so take it for what it is worth. I get really good results with my translucent black/blue black.
I think Dan's rates his true hard (surgical black) as finer then the translucent.