What's new

Backpacking Newbie

I keep my pack weight lightweight. That means I can use New Balance trail runner shoes. I always use a staff, or (usually) hiking poles.

I use an alcohol stove in most circumstances except for hikes in winter with friends. My usual alcohol stove is the Robinson "TrailDad" Cat Can stove. Here's a link: http://www.thru-hiker.com/projects/cat_stove.php

I finally got over my fear of bugs. I now just put my sleeping bag on the ground cloth, and use a tarp to keep the rain off.

Just back from 2 great trips in the last 10 days (car camping in Mount Tamalpais and backpacking the Santa Cruz mountains) and the best tip I can give a newbie is to fill your Prednisone presctiption BEFORE you leave. I'm no rookie but I'm new to the West Coast, and the amount of poison oak out there is staggering. Even though we were paranoid about looking out for it, there are so many variations that we obviously missed seeing and tramped right through.

My legs look like a map of Albania, and the less we talk about my inner thigh itching the better. Great news, I woke up with swelling on my EYELID today! Everything I own is now in the washing machine :)

Sorry to hear about the bad case of poison oak. I'm just glad I have no reaction to poison ivy, oak, or sumac. Well, at least in the past.

Just back from 2 great trips in the last 10 days (car camping in Mount Tamalpais and backpacking the Santa Cruz mountains) and the best tip I can give a newbie is to fill your Prednisone presctiption BEFORE you leave. I'm no rookie but I'm new to the West Coast, and the amount of poison oak out there is staggering. Even though we were paranoid about looking out for it, there are so many variations that we obviously missed seeing and tramped right through.

My legs look like a map of Albania, and the less we talk about my inner thigh itching the better. Great news, I woke up with swelling on my EYELID today! Everything I own is now in the washing machine :)