What's new

Newbie Here! 1st questions.

Good day all. I never thought I would be going down a rabbit hole of shaving. But, here I am. The forums and reading peoples thoughts, comments, and reviews I love the conversation, the comrade, and the cleanliness of it.

I am 55 years old. Have grey and black Italian course hair. I usually shave between 3-4 days and with me starting this 6 weeks ago I go two days because I am eager to try a blade. I will write my thoughts later as I am compiling a list of blades and razors.

What started me on this journey is the Henson gateway drug of their advertising showed up. while I was contemplating making a change from my Harry’s Razor due to cost increases.

I will save more to the story for later on. But, for now I have a question. The Henson mild was too mild. I purchased The Henson +++ aggressive, and the Merkur 34c with the octagon handle.

Today, I had a two day stubble. Because the Henson +++ was next to test with the Wilkinson Sword Blade that’s what I chose (yeah yeah rookie mistake???) Well anyway. I used Poraso pre shave and soap. At the end of the three passes, I had a few weepers and a nice bleeder.

My Question for today is this. Did I have a wrong pairing? Did I choose the wrong tool for the job? Should I save this razor for longer hair and a milder blade? What would some of the best pairing be for this razor? I do realize milage will vary.

Thank you all!

Chef455

Head Cheese Head Chef
Welcome to B&B. I have no experience with Henson razors, so I can't help there. As far as the 34c os concerned it is, IMHO, a great all around razor. If you just switched to the Henson +++, I'd give it a few weeks before you move on. Likely you are already using some muscle memory from the mild. Take some time with the new razor, the blades that you mentioned are perfectly fine.