What's new

Anyone shoot competitively? Looking to upgrade

As the title says, I'm looking to upgrade to a gun that'll dual serve as a personal defense and competition ready pistol. I shoot in a weekly league at the local range with aspirations to delve into other classes of competitive shooting. Here are the background details and some things I'm looking for in a handgun:

- We shoot GSSF style; 10 rds in 15 seconds at 5, 7, 10, 15, and 25 yds at an NRA-D1 target (x, 10, 8, 5 pts respectively)
- I currently shoot a Sig Sauer M11-A1 in these competitions and average about a 472
- I also carry said Sig
- I own a few Glocks as mentioned in other threads. I can expound if necessary
- I have extensive knowledge and experience with various 1911's
- It must have non optical sights; would prefer tritium night sights if possible
- I would prefer 9mm or .45 ACP as I already own pistols in these calibers, but would be willing to expand
- I am open to almost all recommendations (probably other than Glock).
- Budget cap is $2k

Thanks for your help gentlemen

nortac

"Can't Raise an Eyebrow"
I'm not sure what you're trying to achieve here since you want to carry what you compete with and visa versa. Competition guns are antithetical to carry guns. A gun that gives you a competitive edge is likely not well suited to life and death real world concealed carry. Race guns have light triggers, extended do-dads, springs tuned to competition loads and are finicky and subject to malfunctions at times. Serious guns for self defense have heavier triggers for safety and reliability, trimmed down to bare necesities and function best with full power defensive ammunition. I know guys who compete with box stock Glocks and do just fine, but they are more interested in proficiency with defensive arms than highest score or fastest times. So you have to decide if you are training for the real world or just playing games.