What's new

Airline pilot, best alternative shave for travel

Starting the first of the year, I'll be flying for an airline and will be traveling quite a lot. I started wet shaving with a DE (Merkur HD) and badger brush in 2014 and haven't touched a cartridge since. All my irritation was gone within a month or so. I've been hooked ever since.

My facial hair isn't all that coarse but I have to be clean shaven for work now and can pretty much get away with shaving every other day.

So here is my issue...

As an airline pilot, I'll be gone for 3-4 days at a time once on a trip. Obviously I'll need to shave during that time. Since I won't be checking bags on each flight, I can't bring anything restrictive in my carry on. The DE razor itself isn't prohibited, but the blades are.

I'm looking at two options:

- Find a decent alternative to safety razor shaving, maybe I'm unaware of other options (this is potentially where you come in)

- Since I'll know which hotel I'm going to be in ahead of time via my trip schedule, I can send a single blade to each place I stay at ahead of time (C/O myself) via an envelope, stuck between a couple of business cards. I would just carry all the other essentials with me carry on.

The latter would be ideal so I can continue to shave the way I prefer, but it will come at a bit of a cost and obviously some extra time to plan out. I figure 10-12 nights away a month would equal $5 or so in stamps, $2 in envelopes and $2 in blades.

Having to buy cartridges again, monetarily, it may be a wash anyway.

Any suggestions? Am I crazy for trying to plan that out? I REALLY hate shaving with a cartridge and it might not be all that much of a change in monthly cost anyway.

FWIW, I don't shave this way to save money. It's just a nice bonus on top of every other benefit that we are all aware of.