What's new

Any sushi lovers? Tell me about your wasabi usage.

I love sushi dearly, though I don't get to enjoy it as often as I'd like because A.) I'm a poor college student, and B.) my wife is none-too-keen on it.

When I am lucky enough to have it, I will at least once during my meal place too much wasabi on a piece and breathe fire for 10 minutes. I try to use a dollop no larger than a small pea. How do you guys use it? Am I overly sensitive? I love spicy food in general, but there's something about wasabi that just cuts to the quick with me.

**Also, I realize that I am probably referring to fake or "western wasabi." I hear the real thing isn't quite as murderously spicy.**

Last edited:
Pea size dollop per piece of Nigiri/sashimi? That is way too much. You are overpowering any flavor the fish might have. Might as well eat a wasabi riceball and save yourself 3 dollars.

I've always mixed mine with soy sauce until I get it just right. That's the only way I've been shown so I don't do if I'm even doing it right. Is there a right or wrong way?

I've always mixed mine with soy sauce until I get it just right. That's the only way I've been shown so I don't do if I'm even doing it right. Is there a right or wrong way?
+1. This is how I've always done it as well, but the wasabi rice ball does sound good. My wasabi/soy mix usually looks like pea soup. I like it hot.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
I usually make sure that I eat all the wasabi they gave me with the sushi. I paid for it after all!

You could enjoy sushi more often if you would make it. You wife might not like it but if you would go with vegetarian sushi (avocado, cucumber, daikon) she might enjoy those as you don't require wasabi! Unless she doesn't like rice at all.

Making them yourself is not difficult, it takes time and the ability to roll the rice as compact as you can.