What's new

Beginner tips & guidance… From a beginner!

Hello Smooth-Faced Gents!

First post here. I just started down the double edged safety razor experience. I have been reading a lot and collecting info before ever putting blade to skin. This web site and several others have been wonderful for collecting information. I like to gather as much info and opinions as I can before buying something. There must be some other beginners out there who could benefit from the time I invested. So as a way to give back a little, I thought that I would write out what was found and what was done. As you’ll see, there is an aspect of “If I can do this, anyone can.” I’ll describe where I’m coming from, the decision processes that were used, the products tried, and the results. So let’s get to it…

In the beginning… There were whiskers:
Why start down the double edged road? I’ve been shaving for about 25 or 30 years. Lately it’s been 6 days a week and give the skin a rest on the 7[SUP]th[/SUP] day. As I got older and more advanced cartridge razors came out, I tried them. Mach 3 was better than what preceded it. The Fusion was even better. Fusion Power was worse and whatever came after that was even worse. So I’ve stuck with the Fusion. Pretty good. I’ve come to prefer the Neutrogena Face Clearing Shave Cream. Thick stuff from a tube. Works very well for me. Minimal acne, razor burn, and bleeding versus everything else I have tried. I like the thick nature of it. Foam from a can is much closer to just scraping a razor across your face dry. The Neutrogena is nice and lubricating.