What's new

Aggresiveness

I've been using the Merkur 34C for about 5 years and love it. That said, I would like to try another DE that is a bit more on the aggressive side (maybe a slant) just for the experience.

Any and all suggestions welcomed.

Thanks
jb

May I suggest a Parker 94R. Great razor and not too aggressive. It has a larger blade gap. You can get it on Amazon for about $28.00. It is a 3 piece razor.

parker.jpg

I've been using the Merkur 34C for about 5 years and love it. That said, I would like to try another DE that is a bit more on the aggressive side (maybe a slant) just for the experience.

Any and all suggestions welcomed.

Thanks
jb
Maybe the Fatip Open Comb Slant. That gets you an all-brass slant razor and an open comb razor all in one. It's not as aggressive at it looks. The price is nice, too.

Even after 13 years, I still keep going back to my Merkur 34G. It's so comfortable in my hand. Before switching razors, try a more aggressive blade. Experimenting with blades is cheaper than DE. IP reds and Astra SP were fine in my 34 when I shaved every two days. Being retired and shaving every 5-7 days since Covid, I've switched to a RR GameChanger .68. I found their original barberpole handle a bit too long, and recently bought their shorter, thick handle. I also switched to these sharper (but not Feather or yellow 7 O'clock sharp) blades.

never-stop-learning

Demoted To Moderator
Staff member
If you're looking for a mildly aggressive razor, you might think of getting a Rex Envoy. I really love mine. I've tried a number of blades in it from Derby Extras to Kai with no problems with weepers or irritation. It's built to last several generations, and the gripy knurling is second to none. :thumbsup:
The Rex Envoy and the Karve Brass SB-G are two excellent performance razors, especially for the money.

Both razors are in my Big Dogs Category. :)