What's new

Newbie help

I’m new to DE shaving and enjoy it, my current use of primarily Stirling and PAA are enjoyable. I bought a Henson Al13 mild and like it, but I seem to be getting a lot of irritation on my neck no matter what blade I use in it. My normal procedure is shower, hot water face rinse, pre-shave oil, lather and WTG, rinse and lather XTG, then same with ATG. I tried the same procedure with a Mach3 cartridge and did not get the irritation. What am I doing wrong?! Thanks in advance.

I suspect you’re applying too much pressure, which is easy to do with light and inefficient razors. Use a very sharp blade to improve efficiency, Feather, Nacet, Perma-Sharp, etc, and skip the ATG pass until you master the Henson. The neck is always the most prone to irritation, so BBS may not be worth it.

More specifically related to the Henson itself, especially the mild:

Although you should stay on the flat side, it's possible to accidentally let it go steep especially if you are coming from a cartridge. Because there is no blade feel, you really have to take some time to learn the handle angle that keeps the side flat on your face and not let it slip. Also, use short swiping strokes like your cartridge razor and not a rolling stroke. This has happened to a lot of people starting out since I have been here so you are not alone. And no pressure, as mentioned above.

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu
Welcome to B&B! The reason you keep reading that blade/razor angle and too much pressure are probably the cause of your irritation is because virtually everyone has to learn those two things at the beginning of this process.

Less pressure is immediately available, just try to use a little less and then cut that in half. If you're not dropping the razor in the sink you've got plenty of pressure.

Razor angle will take a bit of experimentation/practice. You might want to consider skipping the ATG neck pass for a week or two.

Welcome to the group.