What's new

Calling All Tech Fans

I'm a Tech fan at least Fat Handle. I thought it was a STAR. My dad gave it to me in a bakelite STAR case and it had a pack of STAR blades. It wasn't until I got on B&B and glm38 and BBS-1 set me strait that it was a Fat Handle Tech and not a STAR at all. That being the case I've been a Gillette Fat Handle Tech since the 60's ... Just didn't know it.

Hm. I do have a 1950s Ball Handle English Tech. So far I don't like it. I can go multiple times with the same angle over the same location and get the same sound of cutting hair. I don't want to exclude that my technique is not optimal. My preferred razors are the Old Types and the English No.58 TTO.

Nice razor, but that blade looks w a rusty edge on both sides...time to toss it?

It's just soap residue, I think what looks a bit like rust is actually the clean part of the edge appearing dark in the photograph. If I bothered to wipe the blade it would most likely look as good as new. Its 9 shaves in and requiring some care with technique but I think there's a bit more life in it yet.

Hm. I do have a 1950s Ball Handle English Tech. So far I don't like it. I can go multiple times with the same angle over the same location and get the same sound of cutting hair. I don't want to exclude that my technique is not optimal. My preferred razors are the Old Types and the English No.58 TTO.

What blade are you using? Try a Feather.

In all likelihood you answered your own question. The Tech has a "sweet spot", you just need to find it. A "sharper" blade is not the answer as no blade mysteriously shaves closer as that's not possible scientifically as it's locked into position. A top tier blade will shave smoother (which is actually sharpness).

A top tier blade will shave smoother (which is actually sharpness).